DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2,294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live in Ontario, Canada and I'm considering the purchase of a natural gas BBQ.
I plan to install a 1/2" copper line from a plugged T fitting, through the wall and out to the location of the BBQ.
I'm a retired electrician, so have all the tools that I need.
My question is, am I allowed to do this work myself or does it need to be done by a licensed gas fitter?

·
6,520 Posts
That is something that your jurisdiction may or may not require a plumber to do. In most areas you can do it yourself and the code makes no requirement for a plumber to do it, but many cities require plumbers to do it. Permits are more than likely required, and a shut-off valve for the connection to the appliance is necessary.

1/2" flexible copper with flare fittings, right? Soldered copper isn't acceptable for gas installations under any circumstances. :no:

·
Registered
2,294 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That is something that your jurisdiction may or may not require a plumber to do. In most areas you can do it yourself and the code makes no requirement for a plumber to do it, but many cities require plumbers to do it. Permits are more than likely required, and a shut-off valve for the connection to the appliance is necessary.

1/2" flexible copper with flare fittings, right? Soldered copper isn't acceptable for gas installations under any circumstances. :no:
Thanks for your quick reply, KC!
Its my intention to place a gas valve with a flared connection at the existing T that is in the line (3/4") feeding the hot water heater heater.
The line would run through the 8" concrete block foundation to a point near the BBQ.
I'll install a second valve (flared) outside, with a 1/2" black iron nipple connected a quick release coupler!
The black iron nipple will be supported with a standard pipe stand-off!