DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, newbie here with a question, go figure!

I'm just embarking on a remodel project and unfortunately a wall I'd hoped wasn't load bearing actually is!

I don't actually want to completely remove the wall, I want to move it back a few feet so the new wall will still serve to carry a good chunk of the load, so I'm wondering what sort of beam I'd need to carry the remainder. I've attached a diagram.

The house has 2x10 joists, so ideally I'd like to recess a 10" beam. I still need to talk to the local inspector to get his thoughts, but figured I'd see if anybody here has done similar?

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I will have to add a new beam/posts in the basement, but sized based on the reduced load it's carrying, assuming a beam is still tranferring load down to the existing supports in the basement...

·
Civil Engineer
5,832 Posts
It is almost always possible to move a load bearing wall, or remove it entirely and replace with a header. Unfortunately the details tend to be complicated, including new posts, connection details, sizing the beam, reconnecting the joists, that sort of thing. Your inspector is unlikely to design the project for you, if they are anything like my inspector, they will suggest that you hire a structural engineer, architect, or an experienced contractor to do the work. If you hire a contractor, the contract will most likely use their engineer to design the project, stamp the plans, and pull the permit.

There is really no way for to get a beam size or realistic design from an internet chat forum such as this, you need professional help. Too many options, too many issues.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6