DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so i've got problems with a wet basement, it seems like the majority of the water is leaking in from one wall, and it seems to be because of the lack of mortar between the bricks.

as you can see from the image.. well no mortar really, and a lot of the water comes from that hole on the bottom right that was apparently "remedied" via foam spray.

anyways, i've never done this kind of fix before, should i just use hydraulic cement? or is there a better more effective way to do it?

also, my neighbor brought up the "simple" solution of just pouring in a bag of quikrete and spraying some water at it.

suggestions? this is pretty new to me.. thanks!

·
Retired Moderator
25,769 Posts
I think that removing the bricks ---cleaning up the footing and relaying them might be the best solution.--Mike---

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks mike.
i'm wondering how possible it is to actually remove all the bricks?
the area is in our small basement, underneath the stairs.
i think i could manage removing a few stairs and hauling the dirt out, but when it comes time to remove the bricks? do i remove them all (structurally safe?) or one by one, or what?

here's another picture of the area

·
Retired Moderator
25,769 Posts
I think the adjoining walls will support the door opening while you work----Pull the stairs--remove whatever you must.

It would be easier to judge if I was actually there. That looks like an old house.

Casting a concrete wall might also be an option.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
hehe, since you can't be there how about a lovely video tour?
hope that helps at least a little...

and yep.. 1880 house.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nqWbso3_bCI

so would you say remove all of the dirt, then the bricks, clean everything up and then piece them back together, with mortar?