DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just moved in to a new house and we realized that there is no heat. I am pretty sure the pilot light is not lit on the furnace considering I see no flames when I look through that little sight picture glass (pictures in my album). I have no experience lighting pilot lights, especially on furnaces.

From what I have gathered you usually have to push in a pilot button but my button just has an on and off position, doesn't seem to push in.

Also I'm not sure where I would ignite the pilot or if that little white switch (pictures in album) is what I use to ignite.

The gas valve says it's on, not sure if it is or isn't. Also there is a little light switch next to the furnace, i'm assuming that's how you turn on/off the electrical.

My uneducated guess was to remove that cover where the sight glass is and light it through there ....but I did not want to blow up the house today.

Does anyone know how I would go about lighting this furnace ?

Thanks in advance ! :smile:

·
Registered
3,935 Posts
Your gas company may offer a free furnace pilot lighting service - if your furnace has a pilot light.
How old is the furnace?
Newer furnaces don't have pilot lights, most use spark ignition.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh alright thanks, i'll check that out if it seems too difficult. I believe the furnace is from the 90's but I could be completely wrong. The house if from 1908.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Gave gas company a call and they couldn't really help over the phone and they charge for the service. I am probably going to wait a bit and see if anyone knows how to do it.

·
Registered
13,857 Posts
Your unit shown in the album pictures does not have a standing pilot, it's lit by a spark every time there's a call for heat.