DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m adding an extra bedroom where it was a cathedral ceiling. So far everything has gone as well as it could as I’m not a professional framer and have done most of the worth by myself with exception of lifting some 2x12 ledgers and the GLB in place. I have the subfloor in now. I need to do solid blocking with End nails at midspan and my engineering also calls out CS20 there as well. I’m just unsure how to tackle this. Most of my joist are less than 16 OC due to aligning with lags in the ledger walls. For one. I can’t fit the nail gun in but I’ll survive with a palm nailers. The real questing I’m having trouble answering is. Can I stagger the blocks between joist to allow end nailing which would mean the single CS20 strap would only hit the blocking between on every other joist or does it need to be straight blocking? I’ve attached some progress photos as well as the engineers prints

Attachments

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
All of the writing on the right hand side of my engineering documents is basically code, general guidance, nailing schedule etc.... here is a closer picture. I appreciate the picture you provided. The subfloor is already in so I won’t be able to access from the top but with the picture you provided. I can manage to nail that way with a palm nailer.

Attachments

·
retired framer
38,767 Posts
All of the writing on the right hand side of my engineering documents is basically code, general guidance, nailing schedule etc.... here is a closer picture. I appreciate the picture you provided. The subfloor is already in so I won’t be able to access from the top but with the picture you provided. I can manage to nail that way with a palm nailer.