DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is this a good multi-meter for do-it-yourself automotive and home electrical testing.....Klein model# MM400?
I have little experience with multi -meters. So I am a beginner.

·
Remodel and New Build GC
10,462 Posts
The auto ranging, which you are paying up for with the 400 verse the 300 is a nice feature, but generally for diy around the home not that important a feature in my opinion.

I do find the low impediace feature very nice....but your not going to get that untill up in the more expensive units....plus you can always use a cheap analytic meter or a low voltage light bulb in case you runi into ghost voltage. I guess I like the low impediance feature as my kids in Cali runi into old wired homes that tend to create greater ghost voltage issues.

But the 300 or 400 is great for a beginner.

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Ok Cool. Yes, of course. Absolutely I would ask questions.

Any suggestions for online education for this subject?

·
Registered
10,214 Posts
It's cat III rated, and decent features. I usually recommend a amp clamp, as it's useful for DIY hvac work too. Being able to read capacitance is a nice to have, if you can find one within your budget. Prices have skyrocketed recently, but I really like the testo 770. (I personally have 2 × 770-3, but they are overkill for you.) Unfortunately they gave been discontinued and haven't been replaced yet.

·
Super Moderator
15,369 Posts
There is a separate battery compartment. You should read all the instructions before jumping to unreasonable conclusions.
The warning was two pages past that note about the batteries.

Reactions: supers05

·
Registered
appliances
2,331 Posts
It's a beauty.

Checking caps with a regular DVM, a load, an ammeter and 120v is pretty cumbersome. But I hardly ever have to do it.

·
Registered
1,729 Posts
Do note the comment of MTN REMODEL LLC at Post #11