DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm not an electrician. But I have a rough idea of the things that can go wrong and what will happen when they do. In the case of the QO, it's got 2 nasty faults :

1. There is no secondary cover over the main terminal lugs and the main breaker panel. This means that even if you turn off the main breaker, the box is not completely safe to work on - you have to always be watching where your tools go, where any wires you pull go, etc, because you might touch a bare ground wire you just trimmed to the main terminal lug while you are trying to adjust things, etc.

Even worse, there's an immense danger if my hunch is correct. Every time you unscrew the 3 screws keeping the cover on, if you aren't careful as the cover comes off, you'll jab a corner of the cover into the main terminal lugs and make a connection between the terminal lugs, the cover, and the ground of the box. As I understand it, this kind of intermittent connection has enough resistance that there will be a huge electrical arc flash and an explosion - oh and it may also electrocute the person doing this if they don't have protective gloves on.

2. Even though it's now mandatory for new breakers to cost about $50 more each, a single 200 amp disconnect switch is not part of the breaker box. If I were designing one, I'd require a disconnect switch, and make it mechanically impossible to even take a breaker cover off without putting the disconnect into the "off" position. (you could turn it back on after you remove the cover if you need to test circuits with a multimeter)

·
Super Moderator
16,898 Posts
Except for Canadian panels, I have not seen a residential panel with any protection over the main lugs. As far as the cover, it seems you were not careful. It would take a lot to tip the cover into the panel by accident.

Many consider Square D to be the Cadillac of panels.

·
Registered
39 Posts