DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to insulate the space between my kitchen counter and the exterior wall. It can only be accessed from the top of the counter. The gap is 1/4" wide. Does anybody have a solution?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the suggestion. This is uncharted territory for me so I hope you won't mind a couple of more questions. The counter is 3' high and approximately 8' wide. (I said 2' because the counter is screwed to the wall at 2' intervals and I assumed I would be using some kind of solid insulation.) Is spray the solution for a space this large? Will the spray go down to floor level and then slowly rise?

·
Registered
10,905 Posts
No, the spray foams up too quickly to get very far down. I have no experience with it, but have read there are pour in slow rise foams. Your Google would be as good as mine. But, once in there I would hate to remove those cabinets.

There are also sheets of thin insulation, but it would not be a tight fit.

Let me ask, why?

Bud
Also, there is perlite or vermiculite that can be poured in, as long as there are no holes where it can leak out.

·
Registered
37,177 Posts
Very strange question.
Never once heard of anyone insulating a counter.
Why is the outside wall not insulated enough?
Why is there a 1/4" gap?
A picture would be a big help.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
This is an old house in downtown Toronto. Built in 1880. The outside wall abuts the neighbor's outside wall so it is inaccessible. It was never insulated and to do so would require a lot of demolition.

Our kitchen counter was screwed to the drywall but there is a gap between the back of the counter and the drywall, probably because the outside wall isn't level.

I've attached a picture. The gap is between the top of the counter and the rear wall.

Attachments

·
Registered
10,905 Posts