DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am trying to figure out how much blown in insulation I need per sq ft for an existing interior wall.

Thank you

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello,

didn't know that there is a R-Value for existing interior walls too.
What information would be needed?
I thought there would be an approx. amount of blown-in insulation per sqft for empty interior walls.

·
Registered
37,139 Posts
And how would anyone here know just how thick these walls are or what type blown in your going to use unless you share the info?

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sorry, but I am new to this and if I bother you with my inexperience please take my apology.

I think these are regular 4" walls with a reular height of 8'.
Type of blown-in insulation woul dbe cellulose.

·
Registered
66 Posts
if thermal is the idea, you need to densepack. if sound is the idea, you want the cellulose a little loose, like a pillow.

Anyway, give me the width of the walls, and I will tell you how many bags you need to densepack. already have the height and depth, so just the width.

·
Registered
66 Posts
or this is even easier. as long as your measurements are accurate above, you will need a little more then 3 and half bags for every 10 feet, assuming you are using 25 lb bags.

·
Registered
1,311 Posts
I would use Dense pack insulation if your going for sound and thermal zoning. just know there is settling with lose fill so you might want to check out doing a dense pack less settling.

·
Registered
66 Posts
The number I gave him is for densepacking, minus a little for framing members and the fact that if you haven't densepacked before, your not going to get it as tight as it should be. but he should find a happy median with this.