DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This is more a question to be posted on the electrical contractor forum because its about codes, but I'm not allowed to register there, because I'm not a professional contractor.... oh well.

Basically what I have here is a very small rental building with 3 units, two of them are efficiencies with tiny, tiny bathrooms. The building has electric heat, and I well understand that sucks and its inefficient, but please bear with me. It is not economically feasible at this point to rip everything out and start over.

My city inspectors have commanded that each bathroom have a heat source.
So here's the problem. The smallest bathroom as you can see here (pictures) is so tiny the toilet is virtually up against the wall. That's the way it came, and what I have to work with.
The sink is currently out, and a small sink is going in as soon as the bathroom is refinished. The top hole is where the medicine cabinet goes.
The bottom hole, by the toilet, is the potential heater mount, and the white grill goes over it.

I fully plan to hire an electrician to wire up the heater, but I have been trying to at least locate and place the heater before the wiring is done.
Here is the only place that could possibly work- the back wall has the water closet and sink, the other wall is the shower.
Any lower, and it would be potentially splashable and any higher, and it wouldn't be effective, as heat rises. In short this looks like the only place I can fathom an electric heater could be placed.

Not up to code?
And if not, then where the heck, and how can I put heat in this bathroom as I am required to- thanks for advice!

Attachments

·
JUSTA MEMBER
19,142 Posts
Does that room even pass code for a bathroom?

Should ask your city inspector about the minimum size, as well as his suggestions on how and where to add heat, as they are the final judge on this.