DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi. Im new to this, asking for input and ideas and forums, but im drawing a blank on how to fix this issue/problem that i have. I bought my house a few years ago and it was built in 1934. The original hardwood floors are shot. Badly. I pulled all the carpet and old vinyl and linoleum and newspapers and such (mostly normal crap u would find). For the time being Im pitting down peel and stick downstairs bc its the most cost effective for the time being. Later down the road I will be putting ceramic tile but for now this is my only option for me. Honestly, i hate to cover wood work and I've worked hard on the other natural wood that was bad but I can't on this. Im on a fixed income and only have this option for the time (peel and stick).
My problem is this. In my dining room the floors are in 3rds and cut offs and do not run completely across as they should. I was able to fix the one half of the floor with little issue but not the main high traffic area. I dont want to put any more nails or screws into it bc thats also is part of the issue and caused some to crack. Im at a loss to be honest when i saw it. So i was thinking about cement or the underlament cement thing that self levels. I dont think a glue or primer will help. The boards themselfs in this area also lift up, twist and move a good bit when you walk on them. Not a good thing...
Any suggestions? Please help.

Attachments

·
Registered
360 Posts
I cannot make heads or tails out of exactly what your question is?

If you are going to cover that original flooring (as it needs) then just make sure it is secure. The best method is to glue and screw. If the wood is really poor in areas or uneven then consider replacing it with OSB.

Once your subfloor is solid you should install backer board on it. Once again, glue and screw. You can then use a leveler in getting the surface as level as possible prior to installing tile.