DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I successfully removed the wallpaper in my dining room that had been there since 1986. Apparently, I did a pretty good job given my first time trying to DIY home stuff. That said, it wasn't perfect. I watched some of the YouTube videos and my damage wasn't as BIG as the ones shown. For example, I don't see as much brown layer of the dry wall. I don't think it is to the point that I need to skim the entire wall. I have small quarter-size little nicks here and there and some screw holes to patch. I plan to paint the entire wall. I'm a newbie and Home Depot is where I shop for these materials.

My questions:
1. Should I use sealing primer and coat the entire wall OR just the small quarter size scratches here and there? And what sealing primer is best to work with? Be mindful, I don't do much Home improvement so price/volume does matter.

2. Is sealing primer the same thing as the primer use before paint? It's going on drywall so do I use latex or oil based?

3. Which all purpose joint compound should I use to top the sealing primer? (Please something not complicated - like I said, I'm a newbie)

4. Other suggestions are welcomed.

·
Registered
3,196 Posts
1. Seal any exposed gypsum with Zinsser Gardz.
2. No. Just use a regular latex primer over your repairs. Personally, I would use something from Zinsser again.
3. Regular joint compound is fine - you don't need any of the special products.
4. Buy your paint from a paint store and not a paint department and you should receive better products and advice.

·
Registered
1,864 Posts
Yeah, you can just use gardz as your primer for everything on the wall. It doesnt have any build though.... I like to use something with build for a smooth wall paint. 123 would be fine, and its cheap....

·
Registered
5,702 Posts