DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I am new to this and about to be a new home owner. I realize this is a DIY Chat and this isn't exactly a DIY problem but I really need some advice from someone on what to do.

My wife and I are building a house in Spokane through a company in the area. They buy lots, give specific floor plans then we pick one and they build it, type of thing, so they do alot. Right now 9 new homes are going up in our neighborhood.

However, we are having a mice problem in our home and the builder is refusing to fix it. In the last 5 days we have found 5 dead mice all within a 6ft radius of each other with small holes in the sheet-rock where they look to be getting into the walls. Any suggestions on what to do? Its clear they are in the walls and its a brand new home that we haven't even moved into yet. We are still 1 month from closing. Personally I think they need to remove walls and check the insulation and for dead mice that might be in there as well as holes between the siding and sheet-rock. Please let me know your thoughts! Thanks!

Ryan

·
Registered
11,194 Posts
I wouldn't be going to any closing with a mouse infestation. Have him fix it or walk away from the house. You don't find dead mice unless someone has made an attempt at getting rid of the issue. Unless this was a mass suicide. Next time you're there, take photos of the dead mice(if you haven't already) Also note bait traps , holes in sheetrock and anything else that points to a mouse issue. I'd contact the other people who have houses being built to see if the issue is larger. Fall is the time when rodents try to get shelter for the Winter.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3