DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All, Newbie here.

The hot water faucet in my kitchen faucet is sending out only warm water. It doesnt get hot like it is supposed to. Even after I run the water for 5 minutes, the water is still only warm.

I did increase the temperature on the hot water heater by turning up the temperature dial a noch but that doesn't seem to help.
Can you guys please tell me a few initial tests that I can perform so that I can isolate the problem?

Thank you

·
Registered
67 Posts
If hot water temp is an issue at all such taps, the problem lies with the h.w. tank. If it's only in th kitchen, the mixing valve is the culprit. OOPs...you didn't say whether you have separate taps for hot and cold in the kitchen. Mine has one tap for all water and you move it left/right to regulate temperature.

·
Registered
Building my last home
86 Posts
What kind of water heater? Gas or electric?
You say that the temp was adjusted up, which one the top one or the bottom one? assuming electric.
Warm tells me you have lost the bottom element which does most of the heating of the tank.
You have verified that the breaker is on? right? Moved the breaker back and forth hearing a solid click in each position.
If it is the bottom element then a lot of decisions jump up. Time for a new one? or do you want ot drain the tank and replace the element? Not hard, but not a quick fix

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
If hot water temp is an issue at all such taps, the problem lies with the h.w. tank. If it's only in th kitchen, the mixing valve is the culprit. OOPs...you didn't say whether you have separate taps for hot and cold in the kitchen. Mine has one tap for all water and you move it left/right to regulate temperature.
Thank you for your replies.

1) The water in another faucet is also warm after running it for a long time.