DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am interested in an outdoor camera system, no monthly fees, night vision, able to store info for review and / or get it onto my laptop.

- I am not tech savvy, have been reading about these systems for 2 days, and have to keep looking up the acronyms.
- I do not own a cell phone, so need to be able to access from my laptop
- I do not have an Alexa or a Siri

- I don't think I need instant notification that motion is detected, I'll just look, review and save anything I need then delete the rest. Or at least, that is how I 'think' I will do this.

- I'm not able to climb ladders so anything that needs me to climb up and get an SD card is out of consideration.

Probably need 8 or 9 cameras in total. Depends on width of view; there's probably an acronym for that.

Need to be able to see and identify a person, would love to be able to id a car, license plate a bonus, about 10 to 15 yards away.

I see some that talk about being able to zoom in, does it do that automatically on the motion source or do I have to physically do that - not something I will do. Because I don't plan to be available when it senses motion and starts recording.

Still trying to sort out what I need, what I don't need. And still trying to sort out those darn acronyms.

A link to a good article for me to read and learn earns you bonus points! LOL

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I lost the edit button.

Need 5 or maybe 6 cameras. Not 8 or 9. one each side and 2 in front would be fine, but 6 seems to be the standard.

I like the idea of solar, and wirefree, not sure how to get the ethernet wiring done. Do electricians do that?

Seems my first step will have to be to upgrade my wifi router. Gosh I do hate dealing with technology, it makes my head spin.

·
Registered
213 Posts