DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I set 4 heavy gauge 1" posts in 10"x10"x18" deep concrete footings today. Later this weekend I'd like to weld a couple 2" wide x 1/2" thick handrails on them with curled ends using a Lincoln HD180 but seeing as to how I've already mixed the concrete how long should I wait before welding?

The other question I have is about how to weld the curled ends onto the straight handrail without having a big weld ruin the contoured profile.

Thanks!

·
retired painter
10,013 Posts
I'm not a pro welder but I'd grind a groove between the 2 pieces [at least on the bottom side] to give you more area to weld, then grind smooth when done. How close to the concrete do you need to weld?

·
Retired Handyman/Painter
760 Posts
practice practice practice your welding skills and finishing techniques before moving onto the real project.
as mentioned, grinding a slight taper (bevel/chamfer) on all the mating edges will provide the best connection.
if you have any of the handrail left, you can cut small pieces and practice welding them together and dressing up the welds.
using great care, grind off the imperfections, splatter and excess material BEFORE welding the handrail to the stanchions.
I would wait at least one day before messing with the stanchions so you don't loosen them from the concrete.
it is not the heat from the welder that is the issue - it is the handling and movement that will break the bond between the post and concrete footing.
looking forward to seeing how this turns out - please show some photos of the project.
do you have an angle grinder? a metal "grinding" disk will do the job quickly and neatly.
not the metal "cut-off" disk as it is too thin and will cut into the metal like a knife into a ham.
when you get the metal free of all contaminants, Bondo can be used to fill in any defects.

·
Registered
8,990 Posts