DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Just finished tiling the bathroom floor and it looks great. Shower walls, ceiling, and floor are next. I need to start thinking about grout. I used 1/16" in spacers, but due to it being cheaper tile, the edges are slightly slanted. While the gap at the bottom is spaced at 1/16" it measures just over 1/8" at surface level.

Would you use sanded or unsanded in this case? I'm guessing unsanded since most of the joint is 1/8 or less. The guy at the tile store was pushing tec power grout which claims to fill 1/16-1/2" but my research suggest it is either problematic or really hard to use (or both).

I'm afraid of epoxy.

Any suggestions? I can get Tec and Ardex products at the tile store, Custom at the orange store and Mapei at the blue store. I could probably get laticrete too if I drive a few towns over. I'm a beginner so ease of use is important.

Another thing seldom mentioned is the quality of the matching caulks. Do some brands have better quality matching caulks? Thanks

·
Artist
21 Posts
I'm not educated to give you answers- but I can share a bit of what I've experienced.

The Ardex is lovely lovely stuff to work with. Their new color selection is as dirt ugly as it comes, but the formula is very nice. I just did an art piece that has grout lines from nearly nonexistent on up to ½", and the grout has not cracked even a wee hairline in that wide portion. I pay about $18 a box in my area.

I have used Bostik epoxy grout. It was so simple. The stress of fretting about the infamous grout haze nearly made my head pop off, but there wasn't the slightest problem. Work small areas, SMALL areas, clean a lot as you go- voila. Simple stuff.