DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Gluing Hand Rail at 120 Degree Angle?

813 Views 24 Replies 14 Participants Last post by  colin123
I'm replacing a handrail with returns at 120 degree angles. The originals show no nails and I'm not good with a hammer so would like to simply glue. The problem is that I'm not seeing a way to clamp the glue joint while it cures. The only flat surface on the handrail is the bottom. The only idea I have is to apply glue, push together and then clamp both to a third piece of flat wood. This could hold the two parts together but would not really provide a clamping force. Is there a better way? I would not mind building some kind of simple clamping fixture but am not sure what to do.

Wood Material property Wood stain Hardwood Rectangle
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Remodel and New Build GC
11,674 Posts
Maybe some better ideas.... but gosh...I'd just countersink a finishing screw accross the joint and glue it up...and fill the very small finshing screw hole.... can't believe it would be noticable and it would make the glued joint stronger.

· Remodel and New Build GC
11,674 Posts
Usually shoot a couple trim nails with a gun.
Or use faster drying glue and hold it .
Titebond drys pretty quick
Doing trim molding around bullnose walls, I often use 90 SECOND set epoxy (and a pin nail when I have my gun set-up) .... but I would not trust that on a hand rail.

Sometimes hard to find 90 second epoxy.... I usually find it at Harbor Freight.

· A "Handy Husband"
14,916 Posts
Secure with trim screws and glue, toe screwed from the bottom of the rail. Pre drill for the screws.

· Registered
15,922 Posts
If interested in glue only , they can be pulled together by gluing or screwing 2 glue blocks on each side then removing the blocks . 1 screw in each block will work then fill those holes that will be on the sides . As mentioned that end grain will leave much desired in strength but i've been surprised there too .

· Registered
1,018 Posts