DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
About to buy my first rental property but I am no expert in foundations. I plan to consult a foundation expert as well but figured I would see if I can get any insight first. This forum has helped me a lot in the past!

No cracks in the block walls, however they are painted with the white waterproofing and there is what appears to be mortar or something on the bottom all the way around the basement as you can see in the photo. There is a considerable amount of melting snow where I am right now and there was no water in the basement but you can see a few drops if you look closely in the photo. Any idea if this is a red flag or not? Thoughts?

Attachments

·
retired framer
45,352 Posts
Interior waterproofing will not stop a leak that has pressure behind it.

true for the wall and the floor, it may stop evaporation for water wicking up from the ground below.
Some time they leave a gap around the edge of the floor that allows insects as well as just looks bad. So that may not be anything more than just a filler.

Drops on the wall may just be condensation on the wall because it is not insulated, moist air contacting a cold wall. The floor and the bottom of the wall are about 55 degrees but the top will be more like the outside.
So from here, it looks good.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Neal for your thoughts. My buddy who installs interior drain systems is claiming this house may need one based off the mortar at the bottom of the wall. He's biased though so I have to take his opinion with a grain of salt. What do you think?

·
retired framer
45,352 Posts
Thanks Neal for your thoughts. My buddy who installs interior drain systems is claiming this house may need one based off the mortar at the bottom of the wall. He's biased though so I have to take his opinion with a grain of salt. What do you think?