DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m not an electrician and hoping to get good professional electrician advice here, if any are on this forum, please.

I’m Finishing Basement. Doing new rough and electric and will ask a rough in inspection soon. Ontario Canada.

Q1) Light switch - end of the circuit (panel to few outlets to light to switch) - avoiding the older way’ of having a ´Hot White 14-2’ out of switch to light (with black markings) ...
Which of these 2 options is best and up to codes:
a) 1 x 14-3 between light and switch (black bring hot to switch, red brings hot back to the light / the white of the 14-3 in the switch is not used and wire nut terminated.
b) 2 x 14-2 between switch and light (black on switch and white spliced wife but together beside the switch in the switch box

Q2) One circuit 15A with 6 outlets (6 boxes of 1 outlet each) - all Pigtailed. Question re the ground wires. Incoming 14-2 ground is first screwed to box (all around screw clockwise). Same for outgoing cable to next outlet. Then I pigtail a third 6” ground to both. The tail will ground the outlet (plug).
- Should the pigtail of the 3 grounds be wire nut too like all white and black pig tail should (1 splice wire nut with 3 wire grounds (14-2) to best respect and pass codes in Ontario ... or a good long tight twists on ground is also accepted?
In theory a wire nut splice should offer a better junction but I don’t know what inspectors wants to see to respect code on that one.

Q3) distance from front walk to cable staples on side of rough in. Some inside wall in 2x3 - 14-2 cables stapled right in the middle - that offer a bare 1.25” from top of rough to the wires. I’m for sure putting metal plates on both side of all studs on this ones.
- Is codes distance from top of drywall or from top of rough ? And is it 1.25” or 1.5”?

Thank you so kindly for your time and all your answers.

Kindly
Jack

·
Registered
5,724 Posts