DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone!

I am in the process of building a 16x16 shed/woodshop. I am a complete novice to large rough construction, though I've done a couple small woodworking projects.

Was hoping you guys could take a quick look at what I'm doing and point out any glaring mistakes I may have made. This is a learning experience for me, but I also don't want to do something that could jeopardize my safety or sacrifice the structural integrity of the building.

Here is the WIP build album I have so far.

I just recently started on the roof, so any pointers there would be appreciated. As I outline in the album, I am doing a 2x8 ridge board with 2x6 rafters 24" O.C. with a 6" overhang. I will later install a gutter. I fudged the ridge board height a bit so roof pitch is closer to 4.5/12 than the intended 5/12 pitch but should be OK still. I am thinking 2x8 ceiling joists, though that may be overkill. Will add a stiffback and angular bracing.

I've mostly just been learning by watching Larry Haun, Shannon from Home-Improvements, and Country Life Projects on YouTube.

Any feedback or tips is appreciated

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! It is like ~3.5 ft over the 8' run of the roof. Somewhere between a 4/12 and 5/12 pitch. Was going to do a 5/12 pitch but miscalculated the height of the ridge board.

:oops:

·
Registered
2,849 Posts
Had trouble getting clear look at prints but I would put a couple of ceiling rafters on before you load the roof with osb and shingled. Ron

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I would not start by learning roof structure, actually I know how but I would just order up 7 trusses and 2 gables at a 6/12 and call it a day.