DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I am new to the concrete world but I like to learn and do things myself instead of paying someone to do it for me. I have attached a picture of my sidewalk before and after I've done some demolition. I would like to replace the aggregate with just concrete. I have broken about 1-2" of the slab and I would like to pour over the part I remove. I am removing the concrete with a demolition hammer.

Questions

1. Is this a good way to fix this problem (I need to keep the brick edge)
2. How deep do I need to remove before I pour new concrete.
3. Is quikrete crack-resistant the best product to use.
4. Am I missing anything? SHould I do something else?

I really appreciate the feedback.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,760 Posts
- Breaking a slab with a sledge hammer is fine, as long as you don't hit the bricks you're trying to save.
- A concrete sidewalk is usually 3-1/2" deep. A steel mesh is recommended for heavy traffic areas.
- Use concrete that meets your area standards. One fact about concrete: it cracks no matter what.
- Get yourself the necessary hand tools and start mixing. It doesn't look like you need to frame it, you will use the brick edge. Use the right amount of water. You mix well for at least 3 minutes. Do a complete section on the same day and don't stop till the section is done, included the finishing. I recommend doing this with a helper a helper.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks dj3

Follow up question: Is it possible to not remove the whole slab and just remove 1-1.5 inches and resurface? I have a demolition hammer that can do that work.

·
Registered
1,760 Posts
Unfortunately, an inch and a half deep slab topper is just too thin (even for light use like a walkway) and will never bond with the bottom 2 inches.
You need one pour for best results.

·
Registered
6,729 Posts