DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Prologue:

I am a hobbiest woodworker who is starting to move into more industrial machines (12 in jointer, 17 in bandsaw, etc) and am in need of 240v power to the garage.

My subpanel is full and although I realize that I can make space using tandems, I believe it would be best to place a subpanel in the garage along with dedicated circuits for select pieces of machinery. I checked my 200 amp main service panel (outside) and it has space for another breaker.

I would like to run service wiring under the house through conduit to the garage and attach a subpanel on the back wall, where the wiring for each of the machines would then branch out. These branches would be done using exposed conduit.

My question is:

What would be the best way to do this? I have read contrasting information about the use of MC cable or Romex and various height restrictions for how far they must be off the ground. I have attached a terribly drawn diagram, along with images of my main panel (outdoor) panel and full service panel for help visualizing.

I am located in Middle Tennessee if that matters.

Attachments

·
A "Handy Husband"
14,121 Posts
You need to determine the load to size the cable. I would run aluminum SER cable from the main panel to the garage. Conduit not required unless it is in a location subject to damage.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You need to determine the load to size the cable. I would run aluminum SER cable from the main panel to the garage. Conduit not required unless it is in a location subject to damage.
I was planning on putting a 60 amp subpanel in the garage - although it would never reach that at a given time. Max 30 at any time.

·
A "Handy Husband"
14,121 Posts
With that load I would run 6/3 NM.

Sent from my RCT6A03W13E using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6,397 Posts
You mentioned conduit. Any reason you are talking about cable?