DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi-I am new to home improvement projects. My house flooded over the winter and some of the drywall had to be removed. About a 2' section was cut across the bottom all the way down the wall. I had a contractor come in and replace these pieces. Now I feel definite waves where the patches are. Is it not possible to get these patches pretty flat? I have had several friends tell me it should be flatter and the contractor and another friend tell me it is impossible to really get it right. The photo shows an area of wall looking straight down to floor. Is this good drywall work? I would appreciate any help!

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
20,915 Posts
I would expect it to be flatter than that. It should be a flat taper away from the corner. It looks like a bulge away from the corner.

·
Registered
2,444 Posts
I wonder if the wood behind the drywall had sufficient time to dry out before applying the new board.If so and the wall was not wavy before,they probably could have done a better job of floating it out.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you! Can that be improved at all without totally redoing it? The other areas are mostly in the closet so I can live with it. This area is going to stick out.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I wonder if the wood behind the drywall had sufficient time to dry out before applying the new board.If so and the wall was not wavy before,they probably could have done a better job of floating it out.
It had about 2 months and the area was dehumidified and dried with fans. I could post a lot of pictures that I have taken, if you would like to see more. Thanks for the input!

·
Registered
2,444 Posts
It can be repaired easily by just floating out the effected areas with a 12-14" drywall knife and some topping mud.If the walls have all been painted I would rough sand them and use some hotmud.

·
Registered
457 Posts