DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I have to admit it, I'm a bit of a hobbyist..... Here's the current situation:

We have made an offer on a beautiful house. This house was built in 2008, and it's absolutely gorgeous, and a "screaming deal". The one fly in the ointment is that the departing former owner took all the appliances with him. Stove top, range hood, garbage disposal, refrigerator, trash compactor, microwave.... They took out all the light fixtures & the shower heads. They bashed up a fireplace trying to scavenge the marble surround.

And, they took out the HVAC, both the furnace and the condenser. Chopped the connections leaving the house, apparently with a bolt cutter. Squashed the liquid and return lines pretty good.

I'm thinking of taking on the replacement as a DIY project. I might hire a guy to actually start up the system. Aside from that, I do know how to weld, have a gas torch - brazing with that Sil-Fos stuff doesn't seem like a big deal. Might be a good excuse to buy one of those nifty little Meco torches. And I have a Robinair vacuum pump.

Has anybody tried a different shielding gas other than Nitrogen? I have a big tank of Argon for my TIG welder.

As for sizing it, I figure I can go next door and ask a neighbor to look at his ( same size house, same contractor ). It's a well-insulated 3500 square foot house in a temperate area ( San Francisco Bay Area ).

Is there any percentage in going for something more exotic than a simple furnace/ac unit? Like maybe a heat pump? What about those higher-SEER A/Cs? Are they any less reliable than the low-SEER units? Need more cleaning and TLC?

- Jerryk1234

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh and they also yanked out the thermostat.

I love gadgets. Thinking about one of those fancy Internet thermostats....

- Jerry

·
Registered
3,630 Posts