DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am in the need to remodel my house so I can try and either rent it or sell it and I have a number of projects which I need to have done. I do have some experience in construction but not enough to do what needs to be done. I was wondering if there are any contractors out there that would let an individual work with them to help with the labor cost like they do on HGTV and DIY channels? I am located in the Columbia, SC area.

Thanks,

Glenn

·
Registered
2,444 Posts
As a contractor I would never think of it and have been asked several times.The first issue is my insurance won't allow it.The second is ,in the time it takes to keep an eye on you and explain what needs done and how to do it correctly I could have done it correctly myself.If there is demo work or cleanup needing done you may be able to find someone who will allow you to do that .It all depends on the type of projects involved other than the insurance issues.

·
Premium Member
8,031 Posts
Check reliable video sources like ThisOldHouse, or, if you can find a TRUSTED DIY Youtube channel, you can pick up lots of pointers watching videos. You can pick up a lot of bad info as well, but, it is a source of info to look into. I know I use YouTube a lot when I'm doing something new to me like installing crown moulding, etc. Once you weed through the bad videos and find a good one, well it really can be a good resource.

·
Tileguy
6,050 Posts
It all depends on the type of work being done. There are certain things an unexperienced person can do. The problem is how to determine how much to deduct or how much to add to complete what the homeowner did not complete correctly. It can work if there's trust on both sides.

However...... as a joke I sometimes used to tape a sign like this;

LABOR RATES;

normal rates - $45 hr.
if you watch - $55 hr.
If you help - $ 65 hr.

Jaz :wink2:

Reactions: Gymschu

·