DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have decided that I can't find anything like that I want so I need to make my own light fixture. I have read a ton of web pages and forums and I'm still not sure what the best method would be. I'm making a wooden shelf that is hollow inside to allow for wiring. I'll have 16 sockets coming down from the shelf. I've already researched wiring the light sockets, adding strain relief and I think I should be fine getting everything installed up to the point of actually joining all the sockets wired together. I keep reading people saying just use wire nuts and pigtail to connect everything. I've seen people suggest several different types of wire connectors. I just can't seem to decide what is the best way to go and commit. I'm a little bit of a perfectionist and I'm new to a wiring project this big. It seems that everyone has a different way of doing this. I just want to make sure my fixture is safe. Also, I should mention that I am a renter so I have to wire this so I can plug it into an outlet instead of installing it in an overhead fixture.

My next question is: I want to use two types of wire. One type has ground wires and one type does not. Is this going to be a problem? I didn't realize when I was being creative and designing my fixture that the twisted wire didn't have a ground.

I would really appreciate any help and advice. Thanks in advance. :biggrin2:

·
Civil Engineer
5,832 Posts