DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I build signs for a living but selling skidsteer and tractor attachments is my "side hustle". I'm getting awfully tired of having to move all this stuff to mow and need to put some rock down. I have a dig permit ordered and some Geotextile on the way as well. How deep should I excavate and what type rock should I use? Thanks!
Plant Tree Sky Fence Natural landscape
Plant Window Motor vehicle Tree Grass

·
Registered
7,546 Posts
Us engineers would spec out "crusher run base", but if you get a blank look from the person behind the counter at your local sand & gravel supplier, ask them what they typically supply for driveways. You want a well-graded (fairly even blend of different sized materials) crushed stone. Typically, stuff that comes out of the gravel pit (pit run) and then is run through the rock crusher (crusher run) is fairly cheap and compacts well.

·
retired framer
63,490 Posts
If you want it level with the grass I would go down about 6", if all you have is top soil, no geo fabric you won't 3/4 crushed stone to sink into the top soil and make it stiff, about 4" deep, can cover that with 2" of road mulch which comes with many names, it is crushed mixed 3/4" down to sand.
I built a drive way like that with instruction from my friend that owned the gravel pit 30 years ago. and i drove by that house last year, the driveway still looks the same.

·
Registered
Building my last home
3,925 Posts
I would scrap some old pallets and put your side hustle on boards, and off the ground after you remove/kill the grass and spread the gravel.

I have seen Bermuda grass with roots 20 feet long.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I would scrap some old pallets and put your side hustle on boards, and off the ground after you remove/kill the grass and spread the gravel.

I have seen Bermuda grass with roots 20 feet long.