DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm planning on re-doing the rooftop deck at a condo we just purchased. One of the Condo board requirements for doing any work on your unit is that all contractors provide an insurance certificate (naming condo board and management company as additional insureds) for at least $1,000,000 general liability (and $500,000 worker's comp). In the event I can't sweet talk the Board into just letting me screw down some deck boards without getting the mayor involved, does anyone know how I'd go about getting an insurance policy like this and what it would cost? I'm hoping there's some kind of short term add-on to my H06 insurance policy that could meet this requirement inexpensively and easily. Entire project should take no more than a month, tops. This is my first place so I'm pretty new to everything - any insight is appreciated. Thanks.

·
Retired Moderator
25,769 Posts
You will not get that policy---You can't get workmans comp as the owner of a business, A homeowner will never get it.

You're cooked.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm assuming the WC insurance would be pointless here since there are no workers to cover as I will be doing the work myself - and I would expect the Board would agree, no? There's no employees to even file a claim. Assuming I can get around the WC piece, any ideas on the liability insurance piece? I'll obviously be talking to my insurance agent but I'm just wondering if there's a simple solution I am overlooking or if this is a common request. And whether anyone has a ballpark figure on what the insurance would cost.

·
Retired Moderator
25,769 Posts
It all depends on the board---Next door at Contractor Talk a cabinet maker with all insurances needed was barred from installing the cabinets he made because he was a sole proprietor of a business and as such could not get workmans comp--nor did he need it by state statute.

·
Registered