DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone, I'm very new to this. My current house has a switched outlet. I wanted to make it Un-Switched since I already have a ceiling Fan/Light.

I removed the electrical outlet cover and noted the diagram to be something like this:

Top/Bot Right side-> White Wire
Top Left side: Green/Blue-ish wire. (Top and bottom connection were broken off so they are not connected)
Bottom Left side: black wire.

What I did was, I put in a new outlet that had left side connected, and removed the Green/Blue-ish wire and replaced it with black wire. So right side, I had 2 white wire, right side, I had 2 black wire.

This worked great for me. However, now I noticed that whenever I turn on the ceiling fan it did not work at first. Nothing was happening.

Then I took it back out and re-seated everything, to make sure they are properly connected. Now when I turn on the ceiling fan, my entire electric on my room goes out. I have to reset the power when I do that.

Maybe I didn't ground it right the 2nd time? or maybe the green wire is touching something else? Could that be why ceiling fan causes the entire power to go out in my room.

What can I do here?

P.S. I did not remove the cover for the switch yet since it is glued to the wall together with chalk or something.

Thanks for the help,
I know I sound like an idiot.

·
Registered
5,467 Posts
sounds like you cannot make your switched outlet unswitched from that box.
white green and black sound like normal wires for an outlet.
to undo the switching you need to go to the switch box.

as for blowing the breaker with the fan,
you have miss wired something
or you have wires touching in the box

·
Registered
1,273 Posts
Hello Everyone, I'm very new to this. My current house has a switched outlet. I wanted to make it Un-Switched since I already have a ceiling Fan/Light.