DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a HVAC contractor come out and replaced the furnace ignitor and flu pressure sensor on a 10 year old Bryant furnace. They changed me $433 to replace the ignitor (a $17 part) and $280 to replace the sensor (a $35 part), for a total of $803 with service charge included. They were there a total of 30 minutes. Think I was ripped off?

·
Hvac Pro
23,688 Posts
No. Lots of companies use flat rate pricing same as auto mechanics. That price includes picking up parts and covers the cost of doing business ( gasoline, insurance etc etc). NOT going to get into a war about how you "feel" as that war has been fought hundreds of times on the HVAC forum. It is what it is. Same as the auto repair Industry and others.

http://www.diychatroom.com/f2/how-much-will-cost-asking-price-estimates-here-127914/

·
Registered
14,096 Posts
I've been a small business owner most of my working life and, you were ripped off. If he had repaired 10 items, those flat rates would have included 10 trips to and from your house, not just the one. Sure there are costs to doing business, but claiming a flat rate is no excuse for what you were charged.

If you call and complain I would guess they will compromise at a few hundred dollars off. If not, ask them what a judge in small claims court is going to think about their billing practices.

Yuri, I understand what you are saying, but I see far too many little old ladies being charged as posted here and they just pay the bill because they just don't know what would have been reasonable. At least here in Maine the seniors can turn those bills over the an elderly advocate and have them reviewed. Companies like that would not only have to refund much of that bill, but would not be recommended in the future.

Bud

·
Banned
14,506 Posts