DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Solutions (handyman)
464 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am drilling into a very old foundation and the standard concrete bits don't do anything. I'm using a hammer drill and the bits are from HomeDepot. I think they would do fine on brick and cment blocks but the foundation is solid. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
37,477 Posts
Sure the drills running in the right direction?
Unless I'm hitting a stone in concrete I've never had on not work.
What size hole?
What drill are you trying to use?

·
Solutions (handyman)
464 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
drill bits

I'm using a Dewalt 1/2" also I have a local brand Mastercraft hammardrill. The hole size is 3/16. I agree I may be hitting a rock but I would think it would shatter after a while.

·
Too Short? Cut it Again!
9,634 Posts
Sounds like you need something like the bits mentioned. Your real tool supplier will have carbide and diamond tipped masonry bits. Might be worth it since 3/16" is a size you will use a lot I suspect.

Are you able to get into the surface at all. If so, are you sure you are not hitting steel rebar, plate or something as you go? A masonry bit will not help much with that!

·
Household Handyman
2,480 Posts