DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
13 years ago when I moved into my house, the cinder block wall between my integrated garage and basement had cracked mortar on both sides along some of the blocks. The mortar was removed and replaced. Now, the same exact blocks have the same problem. The mortar is just crumbling. The rest of the wall is still the same and nothing changed. Seems like the mortar used just deteriorated. Both sides are like that with the basement side being worse. It's a separating wall but not a load bearing one. Is it ok to use something like DAP concrete patch to replace the mortar (comes pre-mixed in a smaller plastic tub), the concrete "caulk" applied with a caulk gun, or do I have to mix up new mortar? I've not mixed mortar before, so I'm looking for what is acceptable but easier if possible. I'm new to this, so I don't know if it makes any difference. Thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
218 Posts
Do you know what the mortar was replaced with a decade ago? It might have been the wrong product, or a product that only had a lifespan of a decade. If I were you I would probably get one of those concrete patch or concrete caulk products that appears to be suited for a wall application. From my reading it appears that many of the concrete crack/patch fillers are designed for driveways and sidewalks, and as such they are designed to be self leveling and thus would not be good for a wall application.

The product you mention claims to work on walls so it is probably a good choice. I have literally only replaced a single brick in my wall and from that experience I think you will find it difficult to fill in the crack with traditional mortar, as mortar is just too coarse. Though with proper tools and right water ratio perhaps you could squeeze enough in to bind to the existing material if you first removed enough of the existing mortar using something like an angle grinder before patching.

·