DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My backyard has a slope on the left side and my objective is to have a nice flat backyard.
Also on the edge my back and left property line sits this green circular storm water drain.

I have been thinking about building a retaining wall on the edge of my property line (may be a foot inside) and then fill it up with dirt to flatten out my backyard.

But the county keeps on rejecting my request by saying that I cannot modify the "esaement drain" at all. I am new to all this and would like to understand the definition of an "esaement drain". It is just the green thing or also includes the slope that is responsible for running the storm water down into the drain?

I have attached a image of the proposed plan that was rejected by the county.
Question 1: How can I modify the plan in way that the county is more likely to approve it? May be build the wall away from the drain. Looking for some recommendations of how far away it should be from the drain or any other ideas.
Question 2: Would the county be more likely to approve if I scrapped out the idea of building a retaining and instead built a platform deck over the sloping part of my backyard. In that case how close up to the property boundary can my deck go ?

I know rules and regulation will vary by county\region but I am looking for a general opinion around what the county is likely to like.
County: Forsyth

Attachments

·
Registered
4,826 Posts
The slope of your yard was part of the master development plan. The water from other lots probably passes through yours as does the water from the higher portions of your lot. You are correct that changing the contour after development is usually prohibited.