DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

It's my first post here and I'm a total newbie

I've been wanting to build a small take off/landing platform for my drone (DJI Phantom 4, so quite compact). The platform will be suspended on the balcony rail. I'd be very grateful if you could help me figure out the best (and inexpensive) material to use for this project.
I've figured I'll need some strong clasp for the balcony rail, a roughly 50 cm long pole of some sort, and a platform around 50x50cm (preferably square, but can be round). It's got to be able to withstand a 1,3kg load. And something to connect both ends of the pole to the platform and the clasp.

Now some of you might be wondering why don't I simply take off and land on the balcony floor. Well unfortunately there's heavy metal support right beneath the wooden floor, and the balcony rail is metal as well which confuse the onboard compass, and I'd rather not risk taking off without having all my systems properly calibrated.

Hopefully I can find everything I need at my local B&Q. Any help with choosing the right material is greatly appreciated!

Paul

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
10,737 Posts
I presume you are in the UK from your B&Q reference.

With a camera equipped drone (classed as a small unmanned surveillance aircraft) the aircraft must not be flown:

over or within 150 metres of any congested area;
over or within 150 metres of an organised open-air assembly of more than 1,000 persons;
within 50 metres of any vessel, vehicle or structure which is not under the control of the person in charge of the aircraft;
within 50 metres of any person during flight;
within 30 metres of any person (except for the person in charge of the aircraft) during take-off or landing.