DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, this is my first time posting here but I have been a homeowner for about 20yrs and done several DIY jobs over that time.

I have a few questions about basement dehumidification. Below is a layout of my basement, pretty close to scale. The home sits on the side of a hill, so the area is a walk out basement. It has a little bit of a musty smell. I have been tracking the humidity in the area, and in the summer it is high 50s to low 60s. The area is tied into the home's HVAC system, but there are not a lot of vents so it isn't fully controlled as the floors above. Year round it is the coldest place in the house. Per the diagram below, it is mostly finished, and mostly carpeted.

Rather than using floor standing humidifiers, I have been looking into a joist mount option that I could put into one of the unfinished closets, like a Santa Fe Compact70 and then I would run some 8" insulated(?) ductwork from there...but I have some questions.

1) Is this something that could be considered a DIY job? Getting electric to the unit won't be a problem, and if I put it into Closet#2 per below as a central location, I can easily plumb into the PVC pipes from the condensate drain of one of the HVAC units to deal with any condensed water.
2) Other recommendations on a dehumidifier unit if the Santa Fe mentioned above is not a good one
3) Best location in the basement for the dehumidifier
4) Where to run the HVAC vents with indications of return/supply
5) Any other considerations?

·
retired framer
49,122 Posts
When the same air is in the basement and upstairs the moisture is the same but as it cools in the basement the humidity goes up.
So it does not mean you have a mysterious moisture supply down there.
Your unfinished closets are likely the source of the musty smell.