DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I am having a hard time trying to transition baseboard from my floor up to my stairs. I've read a few similar posts here, but I am not grasping the how-to of doing this(yet)

I would consider myself an absolute beginner when it comes to carpentry and I doubt I could describe what I am looking to do properly...so let me show what I attemping with some pictures.

1 of 3

2 of 3

3 of 3 - my attempt

It almost looks like it fits...but I did that with a lot of hacking and not method to my madness. I am trying to figure out what angle to use to cut the finial pieces. I borrowed an electric saw that can cut angles up to 60 degrees which I am using to make all the angles.

Any comments and help would be really appreciated

Thanks

John

Attachments

·
Registered
7,855 Posts
The staircase skirt board is usually not finished with another trim like you have. But at a brief glance, I think what you have will pass. Just wood filler, caulk and sand so you don't have gaps at transitions.
I would have cut the skirtboard to butt the trim, and use quarter round to finish the top of the skirt board.

·
Registered
37,459 Posts

·
journeyman carpenter
3,480 Posts
if you have a multi tool, i would use it to cut teh skirtboard back closer to the first tread.. make the cut perfectly plumb and at a point that it will be atleast 2" higher than the baseboard. this way you can go with the 3rd picture shows only with longer peices which makes it cleaner

·
Retired Moderator
25,770 Posts
Number 3 looks good---your molding is a bit unusual for a skirt board cap---but I thin it looks rather nice---

Carp Dad offered up a good bit of advice---I like to glue in the small bits of trim--brads will often split them---

·
Roofmaster
3,731 Posts