DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
They say that paint reveals all, and they aren't kidding:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/h9tbrqpzt0r2m5x/IMG_5990.JPG?dl=0

I'm a complete amateur, so pardon the probably-stupid question. Is this just a case of needing a liberal amount of joint compound going pretty wide to smooth out the joint? Do I need to sand the (pretty fresh) paint before doing so?

I have a few around here, but this one is far and away the most hideous.

Thanks!

·
Registered
182 Posts
They say that paint reveals all, and they aren't kidding:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/h9tbrqpzt0r2m5x/IMG_5990.JPG?dl=0

I'm a complete amateur, so pardon the probably-stupid question. Is this just a case of needing a liberal amount of joint compound going pretty wide to smooth out the joint? Do I need to sand the (pretty fresh) paint before doing so?

I have a few around here, but this one is far and away the most hideous.

Thanks!
It's difficult to tell from the photo but taking into account the shadowing where the right side is darker than the left tells me that the wall itself has a pretty big crown in it. Perhaps the wall was extended at some point and the studs were not installed in line with the existing wall or you just have a warped stud there that's causing a bulge or it may even been poor framing. It doesn't appear to be a drywall finishing issue to me but perhaps a better closeup photo would reveal more. A wall section alignment issue is what it looks like to me.

·
Registered
11,933 Posts
Hi Brian,
Adding lots of mud always scares me, as that is what often creates the the original problem. My computer is not willing to open the drop box, my issue not DB's but using a 4' straight edge you should be able to get an idea as to how serious the problem is. Low spots are far easier to fix than high spots (aside from sanding) but getting it to look good after painting means it has to be good.