DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, newbie here. I have a question I was hoping I could get some assistance on answering. I have a smaller walk-in attic (16Lx12W open ceiling) with subfloor above our mudroom. We use it just for storage, but it gets brutally cold/hot in peak season. I’m located in MA. I’m not looking to “finish” the area, but I’d like to make it more comfortable to use. So I was going to insulate & drywall the walls & ceiling. My question is, what R value insulation to use? Again, it’s not living space. I’m also trying to keep the cost as low as possible. Thanks in advance for your assistance! John

·
Registered
13,776 Posts
When you say ceiling, are you talking about the rafters below the roof sheathing?

Is there any ventilation up there, like ridge vents and soffit vents. High and low work best together.

Attics are intended to hot in summer and the house below is protected by lots of insulation and detailed air sealing. if you are storing stuff up there then difficult to have the recommended foot or more of insulation.

Gives us more details.

Bud

·
Registered
11 Posts

·
Registered
13,776 Posts
Tall attic, gable vent, can't tell if there are soffit vents?

Two options.
1. basically the approach you described but more involved.
2. In the deep south they add a layer of reflective foil to the bottom of the roof sheathing. the good news is, it also helps here in the north. The option is to install something like 1" foil faced rigid insulation under the roof between the rafters.

Bud

·
Registered
13,776 Posts
One picture does show insulation stuffed in the space we call soffits, so doubt there is any low venting. Without proper ventilation you risk moisture problems on the bottom of the roof. plus, codes in some locations prohibit fiberglass insulation up against the roof deck.