DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

About two weeks ago I came home to a freezing house (56 degrees). A little harsh when you're use to 78 degrees. I noticed that the furnace was running but only blowing out cold air since there was no flame. I then turned the furnace off and back on. The furnace turns on and within about 10 seconds you get a flame but after about 5 more seconds the flame is gone. I tried this several more times until it actually stayed burning. Sometimes it will stay lit right away, sometimes it takes a few trys on its own, but occasionally it will not light at all and blow cold air until you shut it off. This seems to happen 1-2 times a day.

I have no knowledge or experience with furnaces (besides changing the filter), but DO NOT want to resort to hiring somebody. If anybody can help I would greatly appreciate it.

Furnace: American Standard Freedom 78
Model: TXC025C4HPB1
Does not have a LED light
Do not have a manual

Thanks,
Kevin

·
Hvac Pro
22,783 Posts
If it has a flame sensor clean it with emory paper. Should sit in front of one of the burners and look like one of these:

Attachments

·
Registered
1 Posts
furnace

Did you ever get this problem fixed? I'm having that exact issue and i am clueless where to even start?
hi,

about two weeks ago i came home to a freezing house (56 degrees). A little harsh when you're use to 78 degrees. I noticed that the furnace was running but only blowing out cold air since there was no flame. I then turned the furnace off and back on. The furnace turns on and within about 10 seconds you get a flame but after about 5 more seconds the flame is gone. I tried this several more times until it actually stayed burning. Sometimes it will stay lit right away, sometimes it takes a few trys on its own, but occasionally it will not light at all and blow cold air until you shut it off. This seems to happen 1-2 times a day.