DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I've been a long time looked and user of all your information, but this is my first time posting. A little while ago I purchased an old bunks airless sprayer, the guy I got it from said he hadnt used it in a year but that it worked fine last time he did. I decided to use it last weekend, I plugged it in and the motor started pumping, when I squeeze the trigger, the paint comes out with force and mostly in a straight line. I've tried playing with the pressure regulater but that only reduces the pressure at which it sprayed in a straight line, no fan pattern at all. Also after holding the trigger for probably five seconds the pressure gets so low that the paint just dribbles out. So I'm curious where I should start and what I can look for?? Thanks alot guys

·
Jack of all trades
74 Posts
I am not familiar with that brand. My my campball Hausfield has a lever by the spray nozzle that rotates the nozzel 180 dgrees to clean it out. when it is rotated it sprays a straight stream. and if the presure is set to high it will lose pressure in that mode as you spray. When it was cleaned last it may have been left in that position. Also depending on what and how well it was cleaned the last time it was used. When I am done with mine and cleaned it with water for water based paint I finish by running mineral spirits thru it. Once i have no residure of paint coming out I spray into the supply bucket of mineral spirits and recirculate the mineral spirits around for 5 minutes or so. Hope this helps

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks the reply, I don't see a lever. But I'm wondering if the nozell could be turned manually or something, it seems to spin with a screwdriver, The sPray gun is a Titan lx-80 If that helps anyone?? Thanks alot

·
Registered
93 Posts
well the lx-80 is a very decent entry shooter