DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i've never used a 3/4" union joint before (water). most places i've read/ watched about their installation, the joint doesn't need any sealant, yet i've seen some where a small amount of sealant was applied.

both places i've used them are leaking. i've already switched one place to a regular straight coupling and it's doing ok, but for the other spot, a union joint would work so much better.

should i try some sealant, or are machined (no gasket) union joints inherently leak prone?

thanks...gary

Attachments

·
Registered
13,595 Posts
Ive never had one leak but I've never had to deal with foreign made pipe fittings.

Try this: teflon tape the threads and oil ( any oil ) or grease the threads, the tapered surface of the male half and the back side of the male half flange and assemble with the male taper pointing in the flow direction ( not normally required but this isn't a normally ). Then tighten he!! out of it, you can't hurt it with anything less than a 4 ft. cheater pipe. and a 18" pipe wrench

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
these were from McMaster-Carr. not exactly cheap. could you point me to a better product? within reason, i can deal with a better quality part if i knew where to find one. thanks.

·
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
4,335 Posts
Ive never had one leak but I've never had to deal with foreign made pipe fittings.

Try this: teflon tape the threads and oil ( any oil ) or grease the threads, the tapered surface of the male half and the back side of the male half flange and assemble with the male taper pointing in the flow direction ( not normally required but this isn't a normally ). Then tighten he!! out of it, you can't hurt it with anything less than a 4 ft. cheater pipe. and a 18" pipe wrench

How are you tightening them?

·
Registered
447 Posts