DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, long story short, I'm a welder, and I'm tired of dealing with my welder's pathetic duty cycle. So I've done some research and found couple 240v fans that I'd like to install to improve air flow. Here's my question: most of these fans run at about 240v/.18A, and from what I understand the output of the outlet is 240v/40A. If i were to wire my fans into the main lead for the welder, what can i do to step down the amperage?

PS try to keep it simple for me please, i can hold my own with electronics but i dont know all the jargon.

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
8,858 Posts
You don't need to do anything to step down the amperage.
The fan will use what it uses.

How will the fan help increase the duty cycle?
Do you want or need the fan to run all the time, or just when you strike an arc?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welders have a thermostat, much like a car. When things (mainly the transformer) get too hot, it trips the thermostat and wont let you strike another arc until it closes again. "duty cycle" is how much time you can actually spend with an arc- 40% duty cycle means you can weld for 4 minutes, then wait for 6 for it to cool down again. The fan will help move air across the transformer, keeping it cooler for longer.
Also, thank you for the quick response.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Also, some guys who have more electronic experience have wired fans like this to operate only when the thermostat is engaged, whereas most I have heard of just run off the main power switch, and stay on all the time, which is the setup i plan to use.

·
Registered
5,466 Posts
what can i do to step down the amperage? Thanks!
You don't have to control the amps !
The impedance of the load is what controls the amps flowing !

So in your case the impedance of the welder would be much lower than that of the fans,