DIY Home Improvement Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks. I just signed up for this forum, so be gentle. I'm not a complete newbie as I'm going to school for HVAC and I've worked on my home quite a bit.

So here's the rundown: I have 2 dual-pole 15A GFCI Square D breakers that lead each to a split receptacle on either side of the kitchen sink. I have them wired independent of any other downstream load, as far as I can tell. So they are isolated circuits.

Every time I plug anything into these receptacles, it trips the breaker. And I've tried everything from nightlights to power tools.

Does this indicate a ground-fault somewhere? If so, would the fault have to be on that circuit, or could it be anywhere? Could it be in the panel?

As an added bonus, I've got a light switch that trips one of the GFCI breakers, even though it should be on a completely different branch. I tested another branch with my voltmeter and there was almost one volt from the neutral to ground...is that an indication of something?

I will accept any and all advice that won't burn down my house or fry me in the process.

·
Electrician/DIY fanatic
303 Posts
(2pole breaker)It's probably sensing an imbalance on the neutral. Did this breaker provide a load neutral terminal, and are you sure the neutral branch circuit wiring is isolated?

(Light switch) As above. The neutral is probably tied in with another somewhere, or inadvertently touching a ground.

·
Master Electrician
4,657 Posts
Is this a new installation? The circuit neutral must be terminated on the circuit breaker not on the neutral buss and the tab between the two hots to the recep must be removed.

·
Licensed Electrical Cont.
7,829 Posts
If the receptacle tabs weren't already removed the breaker wouldn't hold without a load. It would immediately single phase, and trip on overcurrent.
HUH??? :huh:

·
Registered
334 Posts