Is This Gap Too Large Between Ridge Shingles And Roof Plane? (photo) - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Nealtw

Old 12-01-2018, 02:02 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Is this gap too large between ridge shingles and roof plane? (photo)

Hi there, I am new to roofing, so assume I know nothing!

I found lots of dry rot in my crawl space, caused by water coming in from above. So I am cleaning it all out and trying to find the source of water ingress. I have just put a few more screws in along the drip edge which was lifting due to rotted roof sheathing below (presumably why there were no screws left in it!). I think wind-driven rain was probably entering here, but while up there I noticed a large gap between the ridge shingles and the roof plane.

The gap is just less than an inch high, and there is material (underlayment?) filling the gap and also sticking out from it a few millimeters. There is a vent for this roof-space in the side of the wall so I don't think this is for ventilation, but I could be wrong, and often am. I am worried that wind-driven rain might be penetrating here and going under the shingles, down the sheathing, explaining why it is rotten at the edges where the drip edge screws in.

Here are some photos of the situation. Maybe you could offer some advice?

Thanks for your wisdom in advance. Dan

https://photos.app.goo.gl/T5ijshwBUk1RSnwe7

https://photos.app.goo.gl/2jZEAZCrA91Z9RBW7

Last edited by danmac; 12-01-2018 at 02:04 PM.
danmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-01-2018, 02:08 PM   #2
retired framer

Rewards Points: 22,106

Re: Is this gap too large between ridge shingles and roof plane? (photo)

That is a ridge vent, I don't know that they are all equal at stopping driving rain.
Johnny_inFL likes this.