Cedar Roof 101??? - Roofing/Siding - DIY Home Improvement | DIYChatroom
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Roofing/Siding

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-12-2015, 09:23 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 78

Cedar Roof 101???

So, I have very little background with cedar roofs. I'm not even certain if mine is shake or shingle at this point. I think shake? Either way, I've redone asphalt roofs before, but with my new home, and list of projects, I'd rather try to get as many years as I can from this roof. I live in Eastern WA. Warmer/dryer climate than the left side of the state.

Some initial questions-
If I do a low pressure wash to clean the roof off, what is best to refinish/seal it with? Linseed oil? Something specific? Something to prevent mildew/moss etc?

Also, it looks it if the shakes are just attached to strips of wood underneath. There is no paper or anything behind them. Is that normal? I'd assume not, but one guy I talked to made it sound like it was. Also, I've noticed that I can see tiny bits of daylight looking from the inside out. No gaping holes, but this still surprised me.

Any initial pointers would be great. I'm a shop teacher trying to make the best of this summer in getting my new home in good shape.
gijoe985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-12-2015, 09:35 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,572

That's how cedar shingles were originally supposed to be installed. When we could get good #1 shingles they were known to last 40-50 years without any type of sealer.

In a dry climate you shouldn't have a mildew/moss problem unless there are trees overhanging the house and or blocking sunlight and air circulation. If this is the case removing them or pruning will do more for the shingles than all the washing and sealer could ever do.
SeniorSitizen is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SeniorSitizen For This Useful Post: