Undermount Sinks - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-08-2010, 08:49 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

undermount sinks

I am building a new countertop for my in-laws. I've got some experience building tops but I've never done one for a undermount sink. I'm afraid water can get under the p-lam and ruin the industrial grade particle board. Does anyone know how I can waterproof the particle board before I put the laminate on?
walleyejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-09-2010, 01:23 AM   #2
General Contractor

Rewards Points: 75

it didn't work out...

Jim,

I don't mean to be rude, but perhaps you are having a laugh here?

Nevertheless, a true story:

Once upon a time I was remodeling a client's home on a T&M basis (I'll just say that it didn't work out; I was young.).

Anyway, one piece of the job was driven by her rather unusual fondness for formica counters and her quest for an undermount sink. If I recall correctly, she had a Popular Mechanics article, or something along those lines, and the process involved some crazy router work, molds and liquid epoxy cast in place to create a impervious rim around the sink.

Needless to say, Italian marble would have been cheaper and quicker, and I mean if we flew in an Italian to work on the marble.

I am sure there is way, but I am also pretty sure there is a reason these two things don't go usually go together.

Good luck,

Rory

RDG Read Development LLC
Portland, OR
Rory Read is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-09-2010, 07:26 AM   #3
Remodeling Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000