Range Hood Install - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Old 06-18-2015, 10:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Range Hood Install


I bought a home which has no range hood (part of the deal). I asked a contractor for a quote to install range hood and he said, it will be 130-150. Is this a fair labour charge?
amitdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2015, 01:43 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 2,444
Rewards Points: 144
Default


You don't say what part of the country your in but yes it is a fair price most anywhere.I't a small job that won't take long but he still has to show a profit and drive there and possibly leave another job to take care of this one.
I always get a kick out of customers that say"you can do this one on your way home after hours".
There are no after hours.If I'm working it's working hours no matter what the watch says.
mako1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mako1 For This Useful Post:
amitdi (06-19-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2015, 04:55 AM   #3
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 25,728
Rewards Points: 7,174
Default


Has that fellow seen the house?

Was there ever a hood in the house?
is the ductwork in place? Electrical?

Need more info.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-19-2015, 05:41 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,355
Rewards Points: 107
Default


Might be a fair charge if he is replacing an existing one. For any work that I have had done, this wouldn't even cover the electric circuit. Then you have ducting and the actual install on top of that .
jimn01 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jimn01 For This Useful Post:
amitdi (06-19-2015), oh'mike (06-19-2015)
Old 06-19-2015, 05:59 AM   #5
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 25,728
Rewards Points: 7,174
Default


Some of the new hoods are huge--8" ducts are common---and 14amp draw--

Like I said before--more info needed
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 09:01 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 6
Default


Theres no hood there, right now. Its a 30" wide space. He saw the house, the vent outlet is in place. This quote is assuming he will use this outlet. He mentioned that he will check if it goes up, if not, then he will let me know before doing additional work.

There is an electric plug, but not sure of anything else. There was a microwave hood before, but the previous owner took it away. I am in Winnipeg.
amitdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 09:53 AM   #7
Member
 
ZZZZZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Middle of nowhere, AZ
Posts: 7,719
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default


I recently installed a range hood in my remodeled kitchen.

Not that it's complicated, but my bad luck, there was a wall stud right smack in the middle of the 30" wall opening. Fortunately I hadn't put up the drywall yet, so I could reframe around the new vent opening.

Make sure there isn't a stud back there in your wall.

Last edited by ZZZZZ; 06-19-2015 at 09:55 AM.
ZZZZZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2015, 06:00 AM   #8
Retired Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 25,728
Rewards Points: 7,174
Default


If the workman saw the project and gave you that price, I think you both have a deal---
Sure sounds like a fair price.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire outlet's cable inside range hood juravel Electrical 5 05-28-2014 11:51 PM
range hood through the wall - - -stud in the way pacifier1er Building & Construction 30 05-21-2013 09:23 AM
fantech outside mounted range hood fan carpdad Appliances 0 11-29-2012 12:29 PM
Problems with range hood installation. darsunt Remodeling 9 01-06-2012 04:59 PM
range hood opening is bigger than range hood jacks16 HVAC 2 06-23-2011 06:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts