Is This A Professional Tiling Job? - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Like Tree7Likes
  • 4 Post By kwikfishron
  • 1 Post By garwein
  • 2 Post By mark sr

Old 03-12-2018, 03:43 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 46

Is This A Professional Tiling Job?

I have been remodeling my bathroom, and have become short of time, so I hired someone to do the tiling, who has apparently being renovating bathrooms and tiling since 2004. He tiled today, and I came home to this, which I'm no expert, but I've NEVER seen tiling like this before. He switched the grout lines from 1/8, which we had discussed and I already bought a colored Unsanded grout for, to 3/16 or 1/4", which now requires Sanded grout in the those lines... but then there is lines all the niche that are either butted up tiles or 1/16" or 1/8" .

He has literally an excuse for every single thing I asked about with the tile job, and thinks it will look perfect when finally grouted. I also asked why all the lines were jagged and how he cut them, he said he only used nippers because its cold outside and he didn't want to run up and down the stairs.

Am I off base here, or is this the worst tile job in the history of tile jobs?

Do I let this guy finish, or do I tell him to remove it all and start over, or do I just tell him not to come back and not pay him the rest of the money?

I'm at a loss here....
Attached Thumbnails
Is This A Professional Tiling Job?-20180312_161115-large-.jpg   Is This A Professional Tiling Job?-20180312_162117-large-.jpg   Is This A Professional Tiling Job?-20180312_161108_001-large-.jpg   Is This A Professional Tiling Job?-20180312_162120-large-.jpg   Is This A Professional Tiling Job?-20180312_161111.jpg  

garwein is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement