A New Way? - Kitchen & Bath Remodeling - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Remodeling > Kitchen & Bath Remodeling

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-21-2015, 12:44 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 4

A New Way?

My contractor just walked out - he was installing a custom shower and I stepped in and let him know I thought he was not doing it right. I wanted to make sure I'm not missing something. (My background is YouTube how-to-do-it videos).

We took out the bathtub and I'm using a linear drain at one end of the shower (~5' long x 30" wide and using 1'x2' tiles. The 'contractor' was a friend of a friend that currently works for a reputable remodeling firm and he wants to branch out on his own. OK, fine and for $3,000 for labor I thought I'd let him do it.

After demo he seemed to do a good with he plumbing. He had to cut through the existing subfloor to bury some pipes and move the drain. He put that back with a few 2x4s on the underside. He then built the curb, sealed the plywood floor with some white sealant and laid the liner on top. He then put the green drywall on the walls down to within 1/2" of the floor of the liner.

Next, he put in about 1" of the concrete mix, the kind with the pebbles in it (I bought the Float mix from Home Depot but didn't want to use it). He let that dry overnight then put a sand mix layer - about 1/2"-3/4". So after that dried I checked with a level and over the 5' it sloped maybe 1/2". He said that was fine, that it sloped toward the drain. I said no, it should be at least 1/4" per foot. We when back and forth a few times. He agreed to make the 1/4" slope but he was going to make up the difference with the tile adhesive.

This is when I really to stepped in. (After some more back and forth) I had him do another coat of sand mix to get a 1/4" per foot slope.